Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science nomination announced

The round for the 2012 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science – Australia’s most prestigious science awards, is now open for nominations.The Prizes are a key element of the Government’s national initiative, the Inspiring Australia, to inspire a sense of national pride by the public recognition and reward of the achievements of Australians in the sciences. They honour Australians who have made significant contributions to building a more prosperous and progressive society through scientific achievements and science education.
Science and innovation are key drivers to improve Australia’s living standards, health, productivity and environment. Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research Chris Evans encouraged the science community to nominate outstanding colleagues for the Prizes. The Prizes are part of the Australian Government’s Inspiring Australia strategy to foster greater scientific engagement. The Gillard Labor Government highly regards our scientific community for the tremendous contribution it makes to build a richer, fairer, cleaner and safer nation.

In the past, the Prizes have been awarded for Australian discoveries such as wireless LAN technology and the bionic ear and for achievements in areas like immunology, quantum technology and astronomy. Past Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science recipients Elizabeth Blackburn AC and Brian Schmidt went on to be awarded Nobel Prizes in 2009 and 2011 respectively. Other past recipients include Ezio Rizzardo and David Solomon, John Shine AO, John O’Sullivan, Ian Frazer, Graeme Clark AC and the late Frank Fenner AC.

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science relies on nominations from across many sectors of our nation, to reward and recognise the outstanding achievements of  Australian science researchers and science teachers. Closing Date for submissions is 27 April 2012, AEST 5.00 pm, and the Prizes will be announced later in the year.  Further information on the Prizes and online nominations are available by visiting science prizes.

Further information on Eligibility Criteria and Selection Information can be found here, as well as the information on the Inspiring Australia Initiative.